On October 3, 1997, based on the Decree of the Director-General of the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia No.396 / DIKTI / Kep / 1997, a Nursing Teacher Diploma IV Study Program was formed at the Hasanuddin University Medical Faculty. The Nursing Nursing Study Program was the forerunner to the establishment of the Nursing Study Program (PSIK). During the establishment of the DIV Nursing Educator Program, there were 4 specializations held, including Basic Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing, Maternity Nursing, and Child Nursing, where most of the students came from educational institutions and nursing services in Eastern Indonesia. This program was later expanded to six specializations, with the inclusion of Mental Nursing and Community Nursing. The Nursing Educator DIV program was then closed in 2001 and turned into the Nursing Study Program of the Hasanuddin University Medical Faculty (PSIK FK-UNHAS).

PSIK FK-UNHAS was founded on May 18, 1999, and is the youngest study program in the Faculty of Medicine UNHAS, where its implementation began in mid-2000. In 2017, to be precise on September 8 the Nursing Study Program (PSIK) succeeded in changing the status of the Program. Study into the Faculty of Nursing stipulated in Hasanuddin University Chancellor Decree Number 26150 / UN4.1 / KL.06 / 2017.

Hasanuddin University’s Faculty of Nursing currently has 5 study programs, including the Nursing Masters Study Program, Nursing Undergraduate Study Program, Nurse Professional Study Program, Physiotherapy Study Program, and Professional Physiotherapy Study Program. In its implementation, the Faculty of Nursing is required to try to be equal and independent together with other faculties in Unhas as PTNBH.